Monday, 31 December 2012

As it is officially the last day of 2012, I thought that the best way to end it would be to talk about my favorite products of 2012. I don't write about my monthly favorite products because in all honesty, my everyday products do not change much from month to month, so for me it is best to do this kind of post once or twice a year.

Saturday, 29 December 2012

I think that the biggest thing in makeup this year was BB creams and it seems that almost every brand has now come out with their own version of it. I love the idea behind BB creams so I thought I would share my thoughts about this one which I trialed recently.

The L'Oreal Paris Revitalift BB Cream claims to be a unique product in the BB cream market because it contains anti-ageing properties which according to the product description fits the 10 signs of ageing and even UV damage.

Friday, 28 December 2012

Today I thought I would do a quick review of one of my favorite mascaras of 2012. 

I really loved using the Maybelline Volum' Express One by One mascara that I ended up purchasing around 4 tubes of it this year before I decided to mix things up a bit and try something else.

Thursday, 27 December 2012

Today I thought that I would write about something a little different than my usual beauty talk. I wanted to share two of my favorite summer fragrances and get your input about some other ones I should try.

The first one to make it to my favorites list this year has to be Daisy by Marc Jacobs. Like many other girls, the first thing that caught my eye about this fragrance is the packaging. How cute is it?!! I think that packaging is the thing that usually draws me to a new fragrance rather than the scent itself. Luckily this one not only looks cute but also smells lovely.

Monday, 3 December 2012

Today I am going to talk about a new foundation I have been using lately - the Even Better foundation by Clinique.
////
Today I thought I would do a quick review of a great product I purchased whilst in Europe a couple of months ago. It is actually a hair product by Nivea! 

I had no idea that Nivea made hair products until I went overseas. It also turns out that they sell makeup as well and you can buy Nivea eye shadows and lipsticks. In my part of the world, Nivea only make skin care products and that's it.

Even though I can't understand the product description at the back, I purchased this product because I needed something to help control frizz and this one looked like it would do the job. Luckily for me this product was affordable and works well. 

Sunday, 2 December 2012

////
Hey everyone!

I feel like it has been forever since I have been on here and so much was happening in my life that I simply did not have time to blog or even make a single You Tube video. These are the things I love to do but as you know all too well, sometimes it is hard to juggle everything and some things have to take a back seat for a while (like my poor little blog).

While I was away from blogging and You Tube, so many things happened - the two big ones being that I became a first home owner of a little townhouse in the city and I got engaged! So hopefully now that things are slowing down towards the end of the year, I hope to get back into doing the things I love, like doing product reviews for you guys and hopefully making a few videos here and there.

What have you guys been up to while I was away?



Thursday, 25 October 2012

////
I am so excited that summer is almost here but that means that I'll be hitting the beach so bronzed skin will be the priority on my summer beauty list. As I am never the one to shy away from fake tanning, I will be sharing my secrets to achieving beautiful natural looking tan at home and without needing to sunbake on the beach.

Tuesday, 23 October 2012

I have been a little late getting on the lip butter band wagon but I knew that I would eventually catch up and now I can see what all the fuss is about. When I fist saw these on the internet I thought that all the colours were to bright for me because I tend to wear neutral colours every day but I have been pleasantly surprised at how wearable they are.

As you guys know, I went to America a couple of months ago and since cosmetics (and everything else for that matter!) is super cheap over there, I decided to get a few more then I would have if I was paying Australian prices for them. Actually, I probably would have only bought one because they retail at $24.95 each in Australia and in America I got them for around $6.00 each - yea, big price difference.

Wednesday, 10 October 2012

////
Now that the weather is slowly starting to heat up again I have been getting more conscious about protecting my skin from the sun. I have forever been searching for a good quality sunscreen that will not make me feel like I have been dipped in oil so when I saw the Vaseline Total Moisture Aloe Fresh moisturizer at my local Woolworths, I thought that I would give it a try.

Monday, 8 October 2012

////
Earlier this year I decided to mix up my skin care regime and decided to try the Clinique 3 step skin care system for dry-combination skin. The three step system consists of a liquid facial soap, clarifying lotion (a toner) and the dramatically different moisturiser.


These products are the first 'high end' skin care products I have tried and I chose Clinique because of their reputation and because their products are demagogically tested. In all honesty, I have really enjoyed using these three products and have been pleasantly surprised with the results. 

Friday, 5 October 2012

////
I am really excited about today's blog post because it is about one of the best products I have discovered on the market. As you guys know, I am always on the lookout for a good quality self tanner and now I think that I have finally found the perfect product.

Vani-T describes the Bronzing Custard as "a bronzing moisturiser with a unique blend of hydrating oils and anti-oxidants to improve the skins hydration, elasticity and tone, it has a hint of self-tanning agent to boost an existing tan or build a natural glow worthy of a red carpet appearance".

Wednesday, 26 September 2012

Today I thought I would do a review about a great all purpose kind of product - the Lucas Paw Paw Ointment. I picked up this product at the beginning of winter earlier this year after my sister recommended it to help mend my dry lips.


Tuesday, 25 September 2012

////
Today I thought I would do a review about an great product I have discovered. It all started a couple of weeks ago when I woke up in the morning to find my face all red and bumpy. It was such an uncomfortable and not to mention unsightly allergic reaction to a new face cream I was using. The QV Face Rescue Gel was a welcome addition to my daily face routine and I feel that it helped me though these very uncomfortable couple of weeks.

Monday, 24 September 2012

When Priceline had a L'Oreal sale on recently, I decided to pick up a new mascara that I have not tried before. It isn't exactly the newest product on the market but it is pretty new to me so I thought I would do a quick review on it.

This product was an impulse and I regret not having read a few reviews on it before making a purchase because it is probably the worst L'Oreal mascara that I have ever used.

Saturday, 22 September 2012

You ladies probably already have noticed a new brand that has reached our shores earlier this year - Essence. Even though it is pretty new to Australia, this brand has been available in Europe for many years. I remember when I was in high school and every time we used to travel to Germany to visit family, I would always stock up on Essence goodies. 

Ever since I discovered this brand, I have always been impressed with the quality of their products and their value for money.
 

Thursday, 13 September 2012

////
Proactiv is a company that we have all probably heard of because they are always on TV and usually have celebrities like Katy Parry endorsing their products. As you guys know, I don't suffer from acne so Proactiv product's never appealed to me. It wasn't until I received some of their products in my Glossybox subscription that I realised that some of their products are suited for all skin types.

During the summer months I like to use a lot of fake tan products so for that reason I am always on the lookout for an effective exfoliator.

Friday, 7 September 2012

////
If you are a beauty fanatic like myself, then you have probably already heard about the latest beauty craze to hit Australia - magnetic nail polish. I was always curious about how it would actually work and I must admit I have been very impressed with the results. This product is perfect for a busy girl like me because it makes creating nail art a breeze.

Colour: Electric Emerald

Thursday, 6 September 2012

The Nivea Q10 plus anti wrinkle tinted day cream is the latest product I have been trying out.The reason that I was attracted to this product was because of its anti-agening properties and UVA and UVB filters.
According to the product packaging, it is a "tinted pigment moisturiser with a sheer finish to suit all skin tones."




Wednesday, 5 September 2012

////
The Urban Decay Melt Down makeup remover is a gel based makeup remover that is very different form my conventional Nivea liquid makeup remover that I am used to.

According to Urban Decay, this product "can take off Urban Decay's longest-lasting products, and it's good for your skin too. Sea Fan Extract combats inflammation, while beta carotene (a source of Vitamin A) and Gatuline In-Tense (harvested from the South African Rain Forest Peekabo plant) revitalize collagen production. Cranberry and raspberry seed oils, along with kukui nut and oat oil, moisturize and replenish.

Given that I am a beauty lover and all that fancy talk sounded very promising, I thought I would give this product a go. This product retails at $24 from Sephora and is probably the most expensive makeup remover I have ever purchased!

Tuesday, 4 September 2012

////
I recently was given the opportunity to trial Nailene so natural everyday French nails and I must admit that I was impressed with their quality.

To be honest I did not expect much from this product as I have always had bad experiences with stick-on nails but I was pleasantly surprised at how long these lasted and how natural they looked.

Monday, 3 September 2012

As you guys know from my previous post on this topic, for years I have been searching for a product that will neutralize the golden tones in my hair. Well, I am happy to announce that my search has finally come to an end! Several months ago my hairdresser recommended for me to try the Matrix Solutionist So Silver shampoo and I have never looked back.

Old Packaging

Sunday, 2 September 2012

Earlier this year I discovered a product that has solved all my skin issues and I have never looked back! Now you might be expecting for it to be a high end, expensive product but lucky for me, it is actually very affordable. This truly amazing product is simply Rose Hip Oil which you can purchase from your local Priceline or pharmacy.

Thursday, 30 August 2012

////
Hey beauties!

So, you might be wondering whatever happened to me for the past month or so since I haven't blogged or made any new videos. Don't worry, I didn't desert you guys without saying goodbye, but I did go on a bit of a long holiday. I had such a fantastic time and feel like time just flew by so fast. We went on an around the world trip, starting in Hawaii, then heading to New York, London and Frankfurt.


Monday, 25 June 2012

////
Today I thought I would write about the most common question I get asked as a makeup artist. I know that there are a lot of articles about this topic but I feel that some of them are relatively misleading so I thought that I would share my experience in the hope of helping you make more of an informed decision.

Sunday, 24 June 2012

////
I never thought the day would come when I would absolutely hate a Revlon product. Ever since I discovered Revlon makeup back in my high school days, I have always loved each Revlon purchase I have made, until now.

I bought the Revlon PhotoReady Compact foundation as an impulse purchase when I had run out of my usual Mac foundation and wanted a bit of a change. I wish that I had researched it before buying it because it's not exactly cheap, costing $34.95 at my local Target.

Monday, 18 June 2012

////
Today I thought I would do a quick review of one of my favorite lip glosses by Inglot. This lip duo cube not only comes in super cute packaging but it is also great quality.

Sunday, 17 June 2012

Ever since I started bleaching my hair blonde, I have disliked the the golden and yellow tones that develop in my hair. After some research, I discovered that the colour purple can neutralise the unwanted golden tones because it is the opposite of yellow in the colour spectrum.

Today I am doing a review of two very affordable salon hair products that I have discovered. The Movie Tone Hues Silver Screen shampoo and conditioner are two great products you can use to neutralise unwanted golden and brassy tones from blonde hair without breaking the budget.

Friday, 15 June 2012

I have very dry, damaged hair so I am always on the lookout for a product that will condition and improve its condition. L'Oreal Elvive anti-breakage conditioning spray was one of my latest impulse buys in order to try and tackle this problem.


Monday, 11 June 2012

////
With the weather getting colder and colder every day, my skin has been getting more flaky and dry so I have been looking for a product to give my skin a gentle exfoliation without drying it out. So there I was walking through my local Priceline store a few weeks ago and found this fantastic gentle exfoliating cleanser by Dove.

On the packaging it says that it has "soft exfoliating beads that dissolve as the cleanser lathers to gently polish away dull, lifeless skin; leaving skin healthy and radiant. The formula contains Dove’s moisturising lotion to hydrate, nourish, and pamper the skin as it cleanses". After reading this description I was sold and given that it cost around $7.00 I thought it was a pretty good deal. 

Wednesday, 6 June 2012

Last week I had the opportunity to try the John Frieda Precision Foam Hair Colour so I thought that I would write a review to share my thoughts.

Even though I colour my hair on a regular basis, I have never actually tried a foam hair colouring product. First of all, I must admit that I was concerned that one box would not cover my thick locks and that it would turn out patchy.

The product which I am reviewing today is one that I have loved using for many years because it works so well for me.

During the cold winter months, my lips tend to be dry and flaky so I need a nourishing product to help bring life back into them and protect them. The Nivea Essential Care lip balm has been a favorite in doing just that.

Tuesday, 29 May 2012

////
The last time I did one of these posts was way back when I first started my little blog and had a fully functional computer. That feels like ages ago! A few months and 2 computers later, I have a new nailpolish of the week just for you.

Today's nail polish was an impulse buy from my local Priceline on the day I discovered that they stocked Orly. I never usually buy higher end nail polish so I thought I might get this one as it was on sale for $5.00 and the colour was oh-so-lovely!


Sunday, 27 May 2012

The Senna Cosmetics triple lips is a lip gloss product which I purchased on sale when I was in America a few months back. The thing that caught my eye about this product is the beautiful colour - it is a bright coral pink that is just so vibrant.

Colour: Triple Pink

Friday, 25 May 2012

////
The other week I went to a formal function and wore my favorite Kookai maxi dress. This is the same dress on which I made a fashion video on my YouTube channel a while ago and since I don't get to wear it very often I thought I would do a quick blog post on it. 

One down side about beautiful formal dresses is that it is hard to get a lot of wear out of them because once your friends have seen it, you can't really wear it again on the next special occasion - that is unless the function is with a different group of people, then you can easily wear the same dress again.

I hope to have a lot more fashion videos and blog posts so stay tuned.




Thursday, 24 May 2012

////
Last week when I was patiently waiting for my hairdresser to do my hair, I was reading an old edition of the Cleo magazine which had an interesting article in it about a girl who couldn't go a day without a full face of makeup. So what the Cleo team did was challenge her to go out every Monday for 4 weeks without a trace of makeup. The article talked about the girl's struggle to stick to the challenge and the pressure of society for us to appear flawless.

This story got me thinking about whether I would be able to go to work and out on a date without any makeup. I remember when I was 14 years old and I had to build up the confidence to wear blush to school and now I can't go a day without applying it. So I decided to try the bare face challenge.


A couple of months ago I was looking for a good quality eye cream and while browsing at Priceline one day I came across the Palmers Cocoa Butter Line Smoothing Eye Cream. Since it only cost $12.95, I thought I would give it a try and see how it works.

Now that I am in my mid twenties, I have become more and more concerned about the appearance of my under eye area so I was looking for a product which would improve the appearance of the fine lines and be hydrating at the same time.


Wednesday, 23 May 2012

Today I thought I would talk about my favorite hand cream at the moment - the Palmers Cocoa Butter concentrated cream. This product is amazing and does wonders for my dry hands during the winter months.


Tuesday, 22 May 2012

////
Ever since the Aussie dollar hit par with the American dollar, I started wanting products sold overseas because for the first time they were actually affordable. Not only that but I discovered that the prices in America are reasonable, much more so than at home. I realised that for the price of one Dior product at David Jones, I could buy two and have a bit of spare change if I bought it from Sephora. That was just the beginning.

The problem for us foreigners wanting to buy from Sephora in America is that Sephora will not ship internationally nor will they accept foreign credit cards or even PayPal. After a bit of research, I discovered that there are a many mail forwarding services out there that can deal with this issue, so then came the hard task of choosing which one to go with when making my purchase.

Sunday, 20 May 2012

Today I thought I would do a quick review of one of my favorite hair products - the Moroccan Oil Restorative Hair Mask. This hair mask not only smells great but also does wonders for dry damaged hair.

Wednesday, 16 May 2012

I am so thrilled to be back with a new blog post! If you guys follow me on twitter, you probably already know all about the computer troubles I have been having over the past few months. Luckily I have managed to get a replacement laptop after a lot of arguing with Dick Smith and I finally have a (hopefully!) non faulty and working laptop.


Thursday, 29 March 2012

////
Hi everyone! I know it has been quite a while since my last blog post but it's not because I didn't want to blog, I was just experiencing some technical difficulties with my computer. Now that is all sorted, I am very happy to be back writing new blog posts for you guys. I've even decided to get a few books out at my local library so that I can improve my blogging skills and make content that you actually want to read.

Anyhoo, lets get into today's blog post. In my opinion, the February Glossybox was one impressive box because not only did it include some great products but pretty much all of them (all but one) were full sided products.

See below for the full review and short video


Sunday, 26 February 2012

I bought these Swisspers Cleansing eye makeup remover pads from Priceline recently because their cute small size caught my eye. I thought that they would be perfect for traveling or to put into your handbag.

They are hypo-allergenic and contain aloe vera and vitamin E. On the packaging it also states that they can remove even waterproof makeup including waterproof mascara.

Saturday, 25 February 2012

////
As you guys know, Australia Day is one of my favorite holidays of the year so I thought that it was really cool that the January Glossybox had an Ausse theme. The other thing that I really liked about this box is that it contained products which I had never tried before (except one).


Friday, 3 February 2012

////
This week I have loved wearing Envy which is a beautiful shimmery champagne colour. This is my very first Ulta 3 nail polish and I have been really amazed with the quality of it.

Tuesday, 31 January 2012

////
Not much has changed since my last blog post about my search for the perfect self tanner. This week I am doing a review on a product made by one of my favorite brands, Le Tan. I am a big fan of some of the Le Tan self tanning products because they usually give me great results. So when I saw the Original Tanning Cream by Le Tan I had to give it  a go. 

The Original Tanning Cream claims to give you the perfect natural bronze tan which is streak free and develops in 4 hours. Unfortunately, this product didn't really live up to my expectations for three reasons.

Tuesday, 24 January 2012

////
This summer I have been experimenting with a lot of fake tan products trying to find one that will give me the most natural looking tan possible. While I am still searching for the perfect fake tan product, I thought I would share with you my thoughts about one which I have been using lately.

My most recent experiment has been with using the Goddess Bronze by Naked Tan.

Friday, 20 January 2012

////
This week I have gone for a more neutral coloured nail polish. For some reason I feel that this is kind of a serious colour especially compared to last week's polish.

The colour I have been wearing is called 310 Slick Slate and it is from the Sally Hansen Insta-Dri fast drying nail color collection. I think it is quite a pretty dirty brown colour.


Friday, 13 January 2012

////
It seems like every week I have unintentionally been purchasing a new nail polish and its mainly because I cannot resist a bargain. I picked up this week's nail polish the other day when my local Target had a sale for Australis cosmetics and a whole load of products were selling for $2.99.

The colour I purchased is called Aqua and it is a beautiful bright blue in a matte finish (and by matte I mean that it has no shimmer rather than the nail polish not having a shiny finish).


Wednesday, 11 January 2012

////
Today I thought I would share with you my favorite nail hardener. Ever since I had my acrylic nails removed a couple of months ago, my nails have been so weak and brittle. It has taken so long for my nails to recover but I have found that the 'Sally Hansen - Advanced Hard as Nails with Nylon and Retinol' has helped them a lot.